• www.ostomyinternational.org

The Archie Vinitsky Awards

The Archie Vinitsky Award is an Award presented to a person who has given the most outstanding voluntary service at international and/or regional level in support of the activities of the IOA. The Award will next be presented in 2014 at a Conference of an IOA Full Member association.

The Award is essentially for services which have been given entirely voluntarily, but in the event of a potential recipient being professionally involved in a related capacity, a very clear distinction must be made by the proposer between their professional and voluntary activities. It is most likely that the qualifying period of any candidate will be over a number of preceding years. The Award will not be presented to current IOA Coordination Committee members or previous Award recipients.

        1982 - Cristian Soop (France )
        1983 - Albert Lyons ( USA )
        1984 - Prof. Nils Koch (Sweden )
        1985 - Maria Siegl (Canada)
        1986 - Edwin Ward ( USA )
        1987 - Gustavo Cajiao (Colombia )
        1988 - Alan A. Meyer ( England)

From this date the award was passed in three years delivered at the opening of the World Congress Ostomized Patients

        1991 - Abraham Lastnik ( USA )
        1991 - Herman Meijer (Posthumously) (The Netherlands)
        1994 - Candida Carvalheira ( Brazil )
        2000 - Gerhard Englert ( Germany)
        2004 - Ken Aukett ( USA )
        2007 - John O Neill ( New Zealand )
        2010 - Brenda Flanagan ( England )
        2012 - Dielwen Bracken ( Canada )
        2014 - Arne Holte ( Norway )
        2017 - Barry Maughan ( New Zealand )

Please find photos and available articles below from past recipients of The Archie Vinitsky Award.
Feel free to email IOA Webmaster to update photos and articles for the other awardees.

Advanced Web Counter